This post is the 7th in a series of 10 named “10 Simple Steps to make Good Habits More Delicious” from the “Sport, Cardiovascular, and Wellness Nutrition” practice group.

            Any food made from wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley, or another cereal grain is a grain product.  Examples of this food group include bread, pasta, rice, oatmeal, breakfast cereals, tortillas, & grits.  Whole grains contain the entire grain kernel- the bran, germ, and endosperm- and contain fiber, iron, & B vitamins.  Refined grains such as white bread, white rice, crackers, and some flours contain only the endosperm.  These grains tend to be high in calories and simple carbohydrates and low in nutrients. 

The USDA dietary guidelines recommend that half of the grains we eat each day are whole grains.  Read the ingredient list on the food package for “whole grain” or “whole wheat”.  These foods also contain whole grains:

  • Brown Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Bulgur (cracked wheat)
  • Oatmeal
  • Popcorn
  • Museli
  • Barley
  • Cornmeal
  • Whole Wheat Bread, Crackers, Pasta, & Tortillas
  • Wild Rice
  • Amaranth
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Sorghum

Most people need between 8-12 servings of grains each day.  Make sure to spread them out throughout the day for maintained energy!

As Always, Trust Your Gut1


Please follow and like us:
Pin Share